• Calculator Online

Levels of Paramedics

Levels of Paramedics

In Ontario, there are 3 levels of qualification for paramedics which lead to Certification as a: Primary Care Paramedic (PCP), Advanced Care Paramedic (ACP), and Critical Care Paramedic (CCP).  The qualification for each are set out in Ontario Regulation 257/00 made under the Ambulance Act, RSO 1990, c A-19. The qualifications for each include a requirement that the paramedic be authorized by a Medical Director of a Regional Base Hospital (RBH) to perform the controlled acts set out in Schedules 1, 2 and 3 to O. Reg. 257/00.

A paramedic may be authorized by the Medical Director to perform controlled acts from the Schedule immediately above their Certification. In this circumstance, the paramedic is required to perform the controlled act to a specific standard as set out in the Advanced Life Support Patient Care Standards (ALS PCS).  All advanced medical procedures that are not listed as controlled acts in Schedules 1, 2 and 3, shall also be performed as set out in the ALS PCS.


Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
5700 Yonge Street, 6th Floor
Toronto, ON M2M 4K5